PIB Press Releases

Shri G Kishan Reddy takes charge as Ministry of Tourism

Shri Shripad Yesso Naik and Shri Ajay Bhatt also take charge as Ministers of State in the Ministry of Tourism

Union Minister Shri G Kishan Reddy took charge as Union Tourism Minister at Shastri Bhavan in New Delhi today. Simultaneously, Shri Shripad Yesso Naik and Shri Ajay Bhatt also took charge as Ministers of State in the Ministry of Tourism.

Sh Kishan Reddy has also been assigned the charge of Union Minister of Culture as well as Development of North-Eastern Region. He was earlier holding the charge of the Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Speaking to the media, Sh. Reddy said that the Ministry will work to fulfill the Prime Minister’s vision of ‘New India’ by investing in strengthening our cultural roots and promoting the Ministry of Tourism sector.

Shri G Kishan Reddy was elected as a Member of Parliament to 17th Lok Sabha in 2019, from Secunderabad Constituency, Telangana.

Sh Reddy has led several unique initiatives like his work for the child-heart patients which became a movement and won him the Best Child-Friendly Legislator Award in the Legislative Assembly by UNICEF (United Nations). He also started a campaign against terrorism and organized International Youth Conference against Terrorism (IYCT) in New Delhi in which over 193 delegates participated from over 54 countries. He also conducted “Seema Suraksha Jagaran Yatra and  ‘Telangana Poru Yatra’.

Sh Reddy has also received the Outstanding Youth Leadership Award for the year2009 by Maryland India Business Round Table (MIBRT), USA, and  Conferred a medal by the Union of Bulgarian Commandos for his contribution towards Global Peace at Sophia, Bulgaria.

Shri G. Kishan Reddy, who people affectionately and respectfully refer to as ‘Kishananna’, is a live example of what one can achieve through sheer determination and hard work. He has traveled extensively across the world representing India and its young leaders in various fora which includes his visits to the USA, Israel, China, Nepal, France, U.K., Canada, Morocco, Malaysia, Bulgaria, Singapore, Egypt, Thailand, Hong Kong.

Shri Shripad Yesso Naik was Minister of State (Independent Charge), Ministry of Ayush before taking charge as Minister of State in the Ministry of Tourism. He is 5 times elected Member of Lok Sabha from Goa. Previously, he has also served as Union Minister of State in various ministries including M/o Health & Family Welfare, M/o Tourism (IC), M/o Culture(IC), M/o Defence among others and has also been a member of various important committees.

Shri Ajay Bhatt is an advocate by profession and has been a member of various important committees at the National Level. He is from Uttarakhand and elected to the 17th Lok Sabha from Nainital Udhamsingh Nagar Constituency.  He is widely traveled and has got a keen interest in social and cultural activities.

Back to top button