PIB Press Releases

Electronics and IT Ministry to honor Tech Champions for their contributions in the domain of Electronics and IT over the past 75 years

Initiative to inspire future technologists

As part of Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav celebrations, Shri Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Minister of State for Electronics & Information Technology, launched an event to honor the outstanding contributions made by scientists/ technologists in the domain of Electronics and IT. As part of the initiative, the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology (MeitY) has invited nominations of scientists/technologists who have made outstanding contributions in the past 75 years in the field of Electronics & IT. These nominations are being sought from people across the country on the web portal https://innovateindia.mygov.in/

Addressing the event, Shri Chandrashekhar spoke about the vision of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi who strongly believes in promoting scientific temper amongst the youth of this country. The Prime Minister has given a clarion call to transform India into Atma Nirbhar Bharat. A robust ecosystem of knowledge and innovation is mandatory to achieve this goal, which is the PM’s vision.

Shri Chandrashekhar mentioned that the post-COVID global order offers immense opportunity to India as countries look to re-align their technology supply chains. India, over the past 75 years has proven its prowess in the field of Information and technology and the growth trajectory in the next 25 years shall be strongly driven by the electronics and IT sector.

The Minister added that the Ministry is fully committed to seizing this opportunity and translating the vision of the Hon’ble Prime Minister.  Accordingly, the Ministry of Electronics and IT has come up with a novel initiative to recognize outstanding contributions made in the field of Electronics and IT since independence. The initiative shall highlight the scientific work and talent of scientists/ Technologists which will, in turn, inspire present & future generations of Scientists and Tech Innovators.

The nominations will be invited from today and the last date for submission of nominations will be 07th November 2021.

The names of the selected Scientists/ Technologists will be announced by MeitY after the selection process is complete.

The event was attended by Shri Ajay Prakash Sawhney, Secretary, MEITY, Smt Jyoti Arora, Special Secretary, and Financial Adviser, MeitY and noted academicians like Prof. S. Sadagopan, Former Director, IIIT Bangalore, Prof. U.B Desai, Emeritus Professor, and Former Director, IIT Hyderabad, Prof. Vijay P. Bhatkar. Chancellor, Nalanda University and Founder DG, CDAC.

Back to top button